Beware Of Email Scams from Well-Known Banks

If you own a computer and utilize the internet daily, you have undoubtedly heard of the term “phishing.” This word relates to bogus emails that are meant to tap into your personal information. More recently (and since the economic crisis), emails are being sent “by banks” requesting that you “update your information” or saying that “there is a problem with your account” or “there has been suspicious activity in your account.”
Does this sound familiar? If so, there is a new round of emails making their way across the globe. One claims to be from JP Morgan Chase, who just purchased Washington Mutual. The other claims to be from Wachovia who was acquired by Wells Fargo. These emails are FAKE. Do not, under any circumstances, open these emails.
If you receive an email supposedly from either bank, delete it. And depending on whether you have an account with either one – check your account by typing in the URL to said bank.
According to AARP’s November 1, 2008 Bulletin, look out for this email: “…the subject line reads, “Account review — Chase Team identified some unusual activity in your account.” In the other, it reads, “You have 1 new ALERT message.” Both tell their targets to click on a link that takes them to a phony website, where they are asked to update their bank accounts by revealing personal information, including bank account number, PIN and Social Security number.”
The email supposedly from Wachovia is just as bad. AARP states that “recipients are told to download software for its “Wachovia Security Plus” protection. But doing so releases a virus that could infect your computer and track passwords and other personal information.”
If you are involved in any online banking and/or pay bills online, it should be noted that no bank or credit card company would ever ask for personal information – ever.
Another scam you may or may not have been aware of is the AOL Scam. AOL was purchased by Time Warner several years ago. Therefore, if your cable service is being supplied by Time Warner, the monthly bill will reflect the AOL monthly charge. If you receive an email claiming to be from the AOL billing department stating that there is a problem with your account and it needs to be updated – delete it!
In addition, anytime you receive an email from AOL, you will know it is real because it is distinctive. AOL will NEVER ask for your account number or any other personal information.
If you are an AOL user and receive email from eBay or PayPal stating any of the above, forward the email to spoof@ebay.com or spoof@paypal.com. You will immediately receive a response indicating that you were the victim of “phishing.”
Remember, delete any email from anyone you do not know. And if something sounds fishy, it probably is!
admin on August 30th 2009 in News
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=9fb77748-5dd6-48ce-83d4-6e2e764bd973)